Review: Broken Promise (Promise Falls Trilogy, Book 1)

Recently, I’ve been going through reading all of Linwood Barclay’s novels, as he is an amazing thriller writer. I’ve made a good size dent in them, but this has been one of my favorite trilogies thus far. The Promise Falls Trilogy. But let’s take it one book at a time.

Let’s get started.

5/5 Stars

Broken Promise.

Broken+Promise+US+HB

We start in a small town in New York state, the main narrator being David Harwood. Barclay likes to jump around with his characters so that you can get the full story , with all characters being told in third person and the narrator in first person. Promise Falls is your average small town, filled with a sense of community closeness and big hidden secrets. Harwood and his son (his wife is deceased) have to move back to the Falls because of financial reasons and he’s hardly home with his big job at the Boston Globe, so he moves back in with his parents until he can find them a place. Then, his job is lost, the local newspaper shutting down for good because we’re in the golden age of media, and rarely do people read their news in print.

From this point, Harwood helps his cousin (mom’s sister’s daughter), because she’s not ‘in the right mind’. Upon arrival at her house with food from his mother, he discovers that his cousin has a baby. That’s odd, because she doesn’t have children. Well, it turns out, an ‘angel’ delivered this baby to her, to make up for the baby she lost before. Might I mention that she also has attempted to steal a baby from the hospital shortly after she ‘lost’ her own, but since her mother is head of the hospital, she managed to quieten the situation to protect her daughter.

Before I get ahead of myself, I’m going to stop the review in detail right there. I love reviews, but hate in-depth spoilers, and trust me when I say I can’t go into much more detail without giving the story away. I just hope it’s enough of a hook to make you read it.

I will say this, though. Throughout this book, and the trilogy, everyone and their stories are connected. Whether or not it seems like it at first, they are. This book was filled with action and thrills from start to finish, and the end will only leave you wanting more. I picked up the first two books at the same time, and ordered the third (which released in Nov. 2016) as soon as I could. The first book took me some time, but the second i read within a week, and the third within 2 days. This story is insane and leaves you wanting more.

Leave a Reply

